Urban Science


Parallel to our practical work, we document and evaluate the potentials of urban art and muralism for urban development. Vital to our scientific work are the transformation of space by public art as well as the establishment of methods to engage citizens to a self-reliant design of their surrounding. Based on our researches, we elaborate communal concepts of spatial development and benefit from interdisciplinary cooperation with local and international experts.

Most of our references are in German, but feel free to contact us anytime for further details in English.

Presentations & seminars

Within presentations and seminars, we share our experiences on urban art, urban education and the creative development of quarters and cities. Every member contributes another expertise and facet to the team.

Presentations & seminars until now

Wall & Space

In 2017 Freiraumgalerie brings a network of international artists, scientists and urban planners into being. Together we want to shake up the usual interpretation of vertical and horizontal space and work with its interactions.

Arch+

As a competition entry for ARCH+ journal for architecture and urbanism, we look at the diverse European scene of urban art festivals and projects. Thereby, we make out trends, new contents and the potential of a contemporary approach to murals as a bottom-up instrument for urban development.

Arch+

MURO

This unique catalogue of facades is probably the world‘s biggest census of potentially designable wall spaces. Population loss and decay have left clear imprints on the city of Halle (Saale) and reveal an enormous potential of gable walls. For MURO we classified 1318 walls street by street throughout big parts of Halle.

MURO (short Version)
MURO

Scientific work

Through our scientific concepts and projects, we not only want to participate in international discourses of art and urban planning, but also promote the transferability of positive effects to other quarters and cities.

Urban Science


Begleitend zu unserer praktischen Arbeit dokumentieren und erforschen wir die Potentiale von Urban Art und Muralismus für die Stadtentwicklung. Kernfelder unserer wissenschaftlichen Arbeit sind die Transformation von Flächen und Orten durch Kunst im öffentlichen Raum sowie die Entwicklung und Evaluation geeigneter Methoden, Menschen zu eigenverantwortlicher Wohnumfeldgestaltung zu animieren. Auf Grundlage der Ergebnisse erstellen wir für Kommunen Konzepte zur Raumentwicklung und profitieren von einem fachübergreifenden Austausch mit lokalen oder (inter)nationalen Expert*innen.

Vorträge & Seminare

In Vorträgen und Seminaren teilen wir unsere Erfahrungen und Konzeptionen zu Urban Art, Urban Education sowie kreativer Stadt- und Quartiersentwicklung. Jedes Mitglied bringt eine andere Expertise und Facette in unser Team ein.

Vorträge & Seminare bis heute

Wall & Space

2017 hat die Freiraumgalerie ein Netzwerk internationaler KünstlerInnen, WissenschaftlerInnen und StadtplanerInnen ins Leben gerufen. Gemeinsam wollen wir das übliche Verständnis von vertikalen und horizontalen Flächen aufbrechen und mit deren Beziehungen oder Wechselwirkungen arbeiten.

Arch+

Im Rahmen eines Wettbewerbsbeitrags für ARCH+ Zeitschrift für Architektur und Urbanismus betrachten wir die vielfältige europäische Szene der Urban-Art-Festivals und -Projekte. Hierbei erkennen wir Trends, neue Inhalte und das Potential eines zeitgenössischen Umgangs mit Wandbildern als Stadtentwicklungsinstrument von unten.

Arch+

MURO

Dieser einzigartige Fassadenkatalog ist vermutlich die weltweit größte Erhebung potentiell gestaltbarer Wandflächen. Einwohnerschwund und Verfall haben deutliche Spuren in der Stadt Halle (Saale) hinterlassen und offenbaren ein schier endloses Potential an gestaltbaren Giebelwänden. Für MURO haben wir 1318 Wände in großen Teilen Halles Straßenzug für Straßenzug kategorisiert und katalogisiert.

MURO Zusammenfassung
MURO

Wissenschaftliche Arbeiten

Mit unseren wissenschaftlichen Projekten und Konzeptionen wollen wir nicht nur zu einem internationalen künstlerischen und städteplanerischen Diskurs beitragen, sondern auch die Übertragbarkeit positiver Ergebnisse auf andere Städte und Stadtteile vorantreiben.