Urban Development


What‘s our city supposed to look like? How do we want to live? To answer questions like these and have a real impact on peoples living conditions and surroundings, we are working together with citizens on concepts of urban development. From planning to realizing, our interdisciplinary work with externs and experts ensures profound and sustainable results. We focus on reframing and redesigning spaces, by which means we also can and want to highlight social imbalances. Every part of the town, living space and street is different. We adjust our work, goals and methods to the people and places we act with and always place importance on the integral inclusion of inhabitants and users of urban spaces.

Most of our references are in German, but feel free to contact us anytime for further details in English.

ha:neo

As a part of Kunststiftung Sachsen-Anhalt scholarship, Freiraumgalerie renders a concept for art in public spaces of Halle-Neustadt by the name of ha:neo. From 2020 on, monumental wall paintings provide identification with the city of HaNeu, its art and society. In opposite to festivalized and arbitrary mural art, ha:neo focusses on relevant paintings, intensive inclusion of the artists and creative ways of participation.

Zukunftsstadt (future city)

As a contribution to future city competition of the Federal Ministry of Education and Research, the project ha:neo represents the work of Freiraumgalerie as one actor in a complex network of many. In the quarter of Halle-Neustadt, one of the GDR‘s most important housing projects, we organize and elaborate murals and workshops with the inhabitants and local players – during a pilot phase in 2016 and an extensive program in 2017.

Project review 2017
Video 2017
Video 2016

Halle Freiimfelde

The formerly emptiest quarter of Germany develops into a colourful and self-determined part of town. Impulses are given by urban art festivals, culture and education, networking and the establishment of ateliers and workshops. Freiimfelde is history in the making.

Project review 2012 - 2014

Quartierskonzept Freiimfelde

In Freiimfelde the city of Halle (Saale) ventured a pilot project by commissioning us with the organization of a civic quarter concept. Thereby the city acknowledges the neglected quarter‘s need for perspectives as well as the local engagement. We moderate the process, while locals take responsibility for their quarter by elaborating contents and measures by theirselves or together with experts. From the first ideas to the final concept – that is participative urban development for sure!

Quarter concept (Short version)
Quarter concept

Die Brache

Abandoned property, beginning civic engagement, real estate speculation and even more engagement – after years of work in the quarter and together with the people of Freiimfelde, the city of Halle (Saale) and the Montag Stiftung Urbane Räume, we are capable of securing the most important space of the quarter. A brownfield of 6000 square meters becomes an open and creative park for the people.

Documentary 2013 - 2016
Urban Neighborhood Freiimfelde

BBSR Green Urban Labs (Research Project)

Together with the City of Halle (Saale) we successfully applied for the research project “Green Urban labs” by the Federal Institute for Research on Building, Urban Affairs and Spatial Development. From the application period on the Freiraumgalerie worked as link and intermediaries between the public and the city administration. Since 2016 we support the process, realize projects and moderate the various participatory initiatives.

The application’s center piece is a concept of four interlinked forms of urban nature in close spatial proximity, ranging from highly used recreational nature to spaces of urban wilderness with high biodiversity.

Excerpt BBSR Aplication

Silver Heights

In summer of 2018, together with artist BOND TruLuv and Bauverein Halle & Leuna eG, we organize our first mural in Halle-Silberhöhe (Silver Heights), an often problematic part of town. Additional to the modern wall painting we also design a map of the quarter, for which we have asked inhabitants for the nicest places worthy to be awarded.

Silver for Silver Heights MAP
Video Mural

Urban Development


Wie soll unsere Stadt aussehen? Wie wollen wir leben? Um diese Fragen mit Bewohner*innen von Städten zu erläutern und Einfluss auf deren Wohn- und Lebensumfeld nehmen zu können, arbeiten wir für Stadtentwicklungskonzepte auf Augenhöhe mit Bürger*innen zusammen. Von der Konzeption bis zur Umsetzung arbeiten wir interdisziplinär und kooperieren mit Expert*innen von außerhalb, um fundierte und nachhaltige Ergebnisse zu gewährleisten. Ein Schwerpunkt unserer Arbeit liegt auf der Umdeutung und Umgestaltung vorhandener Räume, wodurch wir immer wieder auch auf gesellschaftliche Schieflagen aufmerksam machen können und wollen. Jeder Stadtteil, jeder Wohnort, jeder Straßenzug ist anders. Wir passen unsere Arbeit, Schwerpunkte, Ziele und Methoden jeweils den Orten und Menschen an, mit denen wir arbeiten und legen großen Wert darauf, Bewohner*innen und Nutzer*innen städtischer Räume von Anfang an in die Prozesse zu integrieren.

ha:neo

Im Rahmen eines Arbeitsstipendiums der Kunststiftung Sachsen-Anhalt erstellt die Freiraumgalerie mit ha:neo ein Konzept für Kunst im öffentlichen Raum in Halle-Neustadt. Ab 2020 entstehen hier monumentale Wandbilder, die Identifikation mit HaNeu, seiner Kunst und Stadtgesellschaft stiften. Im Gegensatz zu festivalisierter und beliebiger Wandmalerei setzt ha:neo auf relevante Kunstwerke, einen intensiven Einbezug der Künstler*innen und kreative Beteiligungsformate.

Zukunftsstadt

Im Rahmen von halle.neu.stadt.2050, der halleschen Teilnahme am Stadtentwicklungswettbewerb Zukunftsstadt des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung, ist das Teilprojekt ha:neo ein Beispiel dafür, wie die Freiraumgalerie in komplexen Akteursnetzwerken arbeitet. Im Stadtteil Halle-Neustadt, einem der bedeutendsten Plattenbauviertel der DDR, organisieren und erproben wir Wandbilder und Workshops mit Bewohner*innen und Akteur*innen vor Ort – 2016 im Rahmen einer Pilotphase und 2017 in einem umfangreichen Programm.

Projektbericht 2017
Video 2017
Video 2016

Halle Freiimfelde

Das ehemals leerste Stadtviertel Deutschlands entwickelt sich zum bunten und selbstbestimmten Quartier. Die Impulse dafür liefern Urban Art Festivals, Kultur- und Bildungsangebote, Netzwerkarbeit und die Etablierung von Ateliers und Werkstätten. Freiimfelde ist auf dem Weg, seine eigene Geschichte zu schreiben.

Freiraumgalerie Evaluation 2012-2014

Quartierskonzept Freiimfelde

In Freiimfelde hat die Stadt Halle (Saale) ein Pilotprojekt gewagt und uns mit der Erstellung eines bürgerschaftlichen Quartierskonzepts beauftragt. Damit erkennt sie an, dass das lange vernachlässigte Viertel eine Perspektive braucht und wertschätzt gleichzeitig das Engagement vor Ort. Wir moderieren den Prozess, während Bürger*innen Verantwortung für ihren Stadtteil übernehmen, indem sie Inhalte, Ziele und Maßnahmen selbst und in Zusammenarbeit mit Expert*innen erarbeiten. Das ist partizipative Stadtentwicklung von der ersten Ideenfindung bis zum fertigen Quartierskonzept!

Quartierskonzept Kurzversion
Quartierskonzept

Die Brache

Leerstand, bürgerschaftliches Engagement, Immobilienspekulation und noch mehr Engagement nach jahrelanger Stadtteilarbeit können wir in Kooperation mit der Bevölkerung Freiimfeldes, der Stadt Halle (Saale) und der Montag Stiftung Urbane Räume die wichtigste Fläche im Quartier sichern. Eine 6000m2 große Brache wird zum kreativen und offenen Bürger*innenpark.

Projektdoku 2013-2016
Urbane Nachbarschaft Freiimfelde

BBSR Green Urban Labs (Forschungsprojekt)

Mit der Stadt Halle (Saale) haben wir uns erfolgreich auf das Forschungsprogramm „Green Urban Labs“ des Bundesinstituts für Bau-, Stadt- und Raumforschung (BBSR) beworben. Schon in der Antragsphase fungierten wir als Vermittler*innen zwischen Verwaltung und Bevölkerung. Seit 2016 begleiten wir die Umsetzung, realisieren Projektbausteine und moderieren die durch die Anwohner*innen umgesetzten Vorhaben. Kernstück des Antrags ist ein Konzept von vier verschiedenen innerstädtischen Naturräumen, gedacht in engem räumlichen Kontext: von intensiv genutzten Naherholungsflächen bis zu urbaner Wildnis.

Auszug BBSR Antrag

Silberhöhe

In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Künstler BOND TruLuv und der Bauverein Halle & Leuna eG gestalten wir im Sommer 2018 unsere erste Fassade im hallischen Stadtteil Silberhöhe. Neben einem modernen Wandbild entsteht auch eine Karte des oft problembehafteten Viertels, für die wir Anwohner*innen nach besonders schönen und auszeichnungswürdigen Orten in der Silberhöhe befragt haben.

Karte "Silber für die Silberhöhe"
Video Wandbild